Around the NHL: Bruins, Leafs Cruise

I almost wasn’t going to do this today, because I didn’t see the highlights last night or this morning, but I figure what the hell?  Even if someone tells me that I don’t know what the hell I’m talking about, they’re probably right.

– Bruins 9, Flames 0 – The Flames look absolutely terrible lately.  Iginla looks completely lost (and tell me honestly that you knew, without looking , that he was knocking on the doorstep – 499, as of two games ago – of 500 goals.  Just a truly ugly game for Jay Bouwmeester (minus-5) in a game entirely ugly performances.  Boston again steamrolls another team.  I’m running out of things to say about them.  Bruins play in the ‘Couv tonight in a Stanley Cup rematch.  If I make it through the whole first period, that late, it’ll be a huge win for me.  Screw the teams.

– Flyers 5, Blackhawks 4 – Pretty big win for the Flyers.  Never mind that the ‘Hawks are a really good team, and a Cup contender themselves.  The win here was the difference between saying “we’ve won 2 of our last 3” and “we’ve now lost 6 of 7.”  That’s a pretty big difference.  Mr. Universe Ilya Bryzgalov picked up his first win since he discovered life on Mars.  van Riemsdyk scored a couple.  Who had Scott Hartnell on pace to score 36 goals in the office pool?

– Maple Leafs 4, Jets 0 – Another 4 goal loss for the Jets, who are probably making Winnipeg have second thoughts about coming to town and also probably lead the league in ugly losses.  I don’t know what to make of the Leafs.  Sometimes they look all world and stupid for starting a goalie against them in my fantasy league.  Sometimes they look like someone’s paying them to take the night off.  Weird team, that.

– Senators 4, Lightning 1 – That’s 4 in a row for the Senators (and goalie Craig Anderson).  Not bad for a team that I thought didn’t have a snowball’s chance in Hell of doing anything other than accumulating high draft picks.  I’m still not sure where the scoring is coming from, but Daniel Alfredsson sure seems like he can still play lately.

– Blues 4, Oilers 3 – All I’m going to say here is that if J.D. is happy, well, then dammit, I’m happy too.

– Stars 4, Predators 1 – Shea Weber’s back!  To be honest, I thought that he was going to be down for a while.  But, as we’re finding out, every concussion is different.  There are guys like Pronger who probably had two or three other ones that just weren’t diagnosed and now he’s suffering the consequences of that.  You just can’t be too careful with a head injury.  Also, Mike Ribiero only has 8 goals?  Yikes.  You know who else has only 8 goals?  Joe Thornton!  Also Ryan Clowe and Vinny Prospal.

– Kings 1, Coyotes 0 – Tell me Jonathan Quick isn’t a Vezina candidate right now.  For me, right now, it’s Hank, Timmy Thomas, Quick.  And despite some other great numbers out there.  I’m not sure it’s close.  And holy crap, a Drew Doughty sighting.  Someone get some shaky footage of him retreating into the woods.

– Sharks 2, Blue Jackets 1 – This is a lost season for the Blue Jackets.  Again.  Tough to be a fan of this team.  They’ve got some talent, but it doesn’t seem to want to happen there.  1 playoff birth in 12 years?  Great googily moogily.

 

Leave a Reply

