About Last Night: Rangers vs. Maple Leafs

As we enter the third week of life without the MSG Network, I’m starting to feel a little like Robinson Crusoe marking off the days that he was stuck on the island on the side of a cave wall with a stick.  Pretty soon, these blog posts are going to begin to look like this:

Day 15 without the large rectangular machine hanging on the wall delivering the moving pictures that I’ve asked for.  What do I need to do to get it to give me what I want?  I’ve done all that I can.  For now, we wait.  And then tomorrow, we hope that there will be relief.  A rescue in the form of Brandon Prust or perhaps Brandon Dubinsky.  Or perhaps some other Brandon that has come on the scene since last I saw those Blueshirts of Broadway perform their task.

In any event, huge game last night for the boys, who had already lost twice this year to the Maple Leafs of Toronto (see?  It’s actually leaking into my writing when I’m not trying) and were coming off that ugly performance at the Garden against the Sens.

– The Rangers won the way they have to win: by playing physical from the first drop to the last whistle.  They simply don’t have the firepower to outgun a team.  They need to work hard, push people around, cycle down low and generate some offense.

– Good to see the puck go in the net for Brian Boyle.  You want to talk about a guy that brown bags it to work every single day.  He doesn’t take a single shift off, and it’s good to see it finally pay off in a goal.  I’ve said all along (to myself, because no one else is listening) that if we’re expecting him to score like he did last year, it ain’t going to happen.  But we should expect to see somewhere between where he’s been all year and where he was last year.  Frankly, mainly because someone’s got to score.

– Speaking of Boyle, I’d give him one of my stars last night (I didn’t see who the actual stars where, so I don’t know if he actually got one), but he spent most of his night playing against the Kessel-Lupul-Connolly line and neither Kessel nor Lupul even had a shot on goal.  Kessel’s legitimately in the discussion for the Hart Trophy and the Boyle line shut him down completely.  Good stuff from them.

– Dubinsky missed another game with the shoulder injury.  We keep hearing that nothing showed on the MRI and they’re being cautious, but I hope we don’t hear about this being a dislocation or something more serious in the next few days.  I’d love for him to be on the ice at home against Nashville on Tuesday (another team that’s pretty hot lately, and has Weber back on the ice and producing)

– Biron.  Can’t say enough about a guy who could probably be starting somewhere else, but is a fantastic safety net for Hank.  If Marty can truly take 20 games from Hank (or more accurately, Hank lets him take 8 or 9 more), that’s a really good thing for the playoffs.  This is a guy who’s played in 12 games that has 2 shutouts.

Hoping to have a couple more posts out the door today, assuming there’s something that’s poorly written or stupid in the Sunday sports sections.

Leave a Reply

